# Kleinheubacher Tagung 2025 (Kleinheubach Conference 2025)

Miltenberg, Germany, 23–25 September 2025

# **Call for Papers**

U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V.

President: Ludger Klinkenbusch Secretary: Eckard Bogenfeld

#### **Program Committee:**

General Chair: Ulrich Jakobus

Technical Program Chair: Ralph Latteck

Award Committee Chair: Alexander Kraus

Commission Chairs: Thomas Kleine-Ostmann (A) Herbert De Gersem (B) André Buchau (C) Dirk Killat (D) Frank Gronwald (E) Madhu Chandra (F) Ralph Latteck (G) Christian Vocks (H) Alexander Kraus (J) Lars Ole Fichte (K) The Kleinheubacher Tagung 2025 of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V. is the annual meeting of the U.R.S.I. Member Committee in Germany and will take place at the Old Townhall (Altes Rathaus) in Miltenberg, Germany, from 23 to 25 September 2025. Conference languages are English and German, English contributions and presentations are preferred.

### **Topics:**

The list of topics corresponds to the Commissions of the U.R.S.I.:

- A: Electromagnetic Metrology
- B: Fields and Waves
- C: Radio Communication Systems and Signal Processing
- D: Electronics and Photonics
- E: Electromagnetic Environment and Interference
- F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
- G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
- H: Waves in Plasmas
- J: Radio Astronomy
- K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine

# Regular Contributions (Talk):

Authors are asked to submit regular contributions by **15 June 2025** via <a href="https://kh2025.edas.info/">https://kh2025.edas.info/</a> stating title, author(s), abstract (in German or preferred English; text only; no more than 500 words; no figures, no equations, etc.) and selecting the Commission related to the topic of the contribution. Submissions open on **1 May 2025**, acceptance notification will be sent by **27 July 2025**.

Prospectively, this year, again, in addition to the regular contribution (abstract) authors may submit a conference paper (up to 4 pages including bibliography, IEEE conference proceedings style) via <a href="https://kh2025.edas.info/">https://kh2025.edas.info/</a> latest by 5 October 2025. After the usual peer review, this paper will be submitted to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library shortly after the conference, provided that the conference presentation actually took place.

# **Young Scientist Awards:**

Scientists born in 1990 or later are invited to participate in the Young Scientist Award Program of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2025. Applications and supporting materials are to be submitted by **1 June 2025** via <a href="https://kh2025.edas.info/">https://kh2025.edas.info/</a> in the indicated field on the website. Details can be found on page two of this call for papers.

# **Call for Organization of Special Sessions:**

Proposals for topic-specific special sessions are very welcome. Organizers should contact the General Chair (see below) by **15 June 2025** with the session title and the planned presentations.

#### **Further Information:**

Additional information about the conference site, accommodation, the conference program, and registration is given on the conference website <a href="https://www.kh2025.de/">https://www.kh2025.de/</a>.

**General Chair** (on behalf of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V.): Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Jakobus, Altair Engineering GmbH, 71034 Böblingen, Germany, e-mail <u>jakobus@altair.com</u>.



## **Important Dates:**

1 May 2025: Paper submission opens

By 1 June 2025: Submission of contributions and supplementary documents for the Young

Scientist Awards

By 15 June 2025: Proposals for special sessions

Submission of regular contributions (including for special sessions)

By 29 August 2025: Early registration at reduced conference fees

23–25 September 2025: Kleinheubacher Tagung 2025

By 5 October 2025: Submission of conference papers for IEEE Xplore (optional)

# Young Scientist Awards / Karl-Jörg Langenberg Awards on the Occasion of the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2025

As part of our continuing commitment to encouraging the next generation of early-stage researchers, we will offer up to 10 *Young Scientist Awards* (YSA), three of these YSA recipients will be further selected for *Karl-Jörg Langenberg Awards* during the course of the conference.

The selection of YSA recipients will be based upon an examination of the documents submitted. Besides originality and creativity, form and clarity of the presented work will be assessed. The YSA includes a certificate, a waiver of conference fees, and a

#### Prize money of 250 €.

All YSA recipients are required to give a talk within a special YSA Session. During this YSA Session, the contributions will be evaluated by an Award Committee. The top three contributions will be awarded a Karl-Jörg Langenberg Award (KLA). In addition to a certificate and the stated prize money, the KLA recipients will receive:

5 000 € (1<sup>st</sup> Prize), 4 000 € (2<sup>nd</sup> Prize), and 3 000 € (3<sup>rd</sup> Prize)

(amounts subject to adjustments should there be multiple winners with the same score). All YSA und KLA recipients will be honored during the Kleinheubacher Tagung 2025.

#### **Terms of Eligibility**

Scientists born 1990 or later holding a Diploma or Master degree (received before 1<sup>st</sup> May 2025) at the minimum are invited to apply. The following documents, written in English only, are to be submitted via <a href="https://kh2025.edas.info/">https://kh2025.edas.info/</a> under the track "Young Scientist Awards" no later than 1 June 2025:

- a) Extended Abstract (up to 4 pages including bibliography; IEEE Manuscript Template downloadable from: https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html)
- b) Curriculum vitae in tabular form
- c) One letter of endorsement (1 page maximum) from a member of the U.R.S.I. Landesausschuss in Deutschland e.V. (German U.R.S.I. committee)
- d) Duly completed and signed YSA application form <a href="https://www.kh2025.de/ysa application form.pdf">https://www.kh2025.de/ysa application form.pdf</a>
- e) Copy of the Diploma or Master certificate

All applicants will be notified by 19 August 2025.

Questions and other correspondence are to be directed to the Chair of the Award Committee, Dr. Alexander Kraus, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy - Radio Observatory Effelsberg, Max-Planck-Straße 28, 53902 Bad Münstereifel-Effelsberg, Germany, e-mail <a href="mailto:akraus@mpifr.de">akraus@mpifr.de</a>.

